Psychedelic | Space / Post Rock | Avant-garde | Electronic / Electroacoustic


Plank Tone

Pre-listening Track


  • Aphotic Sunrise
  • Voconvolute Stasis
  • Seekraut
  • Korallenmusik
  • Permanance Organelle
  • Ausstieg Links

(103 Mb)

(Pdf 211 Kb)

The project "Efficient Refineries" has been founded by Miguel A. Ruiz (Spain) and Siegmar Fricke in 1995. After two net-albums and a CD, the project has been reactivated in May 2011 during Miguel's visit at Pharmakustik-studio in Germany where the fourth epic album "Plank Tone" has been recorded during several night-sessions. This newest LP offers six new complex pieces entering the world of subaquatic atmospheres, seaweed and microscopic algae realised by new techniques in audio-recording and the excessive use of vintage-equipment from the early 70s period like Farfisa-organ, various analogue synthesizers, modulators and a nostalgic rhythm-box.The 11-minute opener "Aphotic Sunrise" reaches a new level in ambient atmospheres; a level of depth, warmth, sound-research, treatment and defines a new unusual style of ambient spheres. The album combines elements of early-70s-Avant-garde, noises, very well structured rhythms and sequences plus bizarre voice-treatments and stands for Efficient Refineries's definition of innovative electronica 2011.

Release Date: May 31, 2011
Total running time: 44:04
Catalogue: NN_LP001_05_11
Format: MP3 [320 Kbps]
License: CC BY-NC-ND 3.0